CCL Game Thread: Toronto FC vs. LA Galaxy (1st Leg)

Toronto FC vs. Los Angeles Galaxy
2011-12 CONCACAF Champions League Quarterfinals, 1st Leg
Rogers Centre (Skydome)
7:30pm Eastern | 5:30pm MST | 4:30pm PT
Rogers Sportsnet

It's the match you've been waiting for -- at long last, the Champions League quarterfinal stage kicks off in Dome, Sweet Dome. It's Dome-ageddon. Pan-Dome-monium!

...Okay, that's quite enough of that.

At the risk of rehashing a tired cliche, this is possibly the biggest match in TFC's short existence: a positive result tonight will bear good omens for next week's return leg in California, for which yours truly will be reporting live from LA-LA Land. And of course, the prize is clear: the winner of this two-legged series will face the winner of the Santos Laguna-Seattle Sounders quarterfinal for a shot at the final.

It's a prize that many like myself couldn't even have imagined a few years back, but here we are -- at the start of the CCL knockout round. It's almost enough to make you pinch yourself to see if it's all just a dream, doesn't it?

Keep it locked here to this thread, as I'll be following the game from out west starting at around 5pm Eastern (3pm Mountain) with team news, with updates throughout the rest of the evening (including tweets from our writers inside the Rogers Centre) and other lovely miscellany throughout the evening to keep you thoroughly entertained, wherever you are.

So do keep me company on this historic night, won't you?

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

Join Waking The Red

You must be a member of Waking The Red to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Waking The Red. You should read them.

Join Waking The Red

You must be a member of Waking The Red to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Waking The Red. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9353_tracker