Canada Women's Team Selects 25 for Cyprus Cup

Bob Frid / Canada Soccer Flickr

25 women will represent Canada at the 2013 Cyprus Cup tournament, and the team selected is a selection of young and old -- some with Olympic medals, others not, but all are experienced in international matches. We have more details.

Canada will be sending a mix of youth and experience to Cyprus for the 2013 edition of the Cyprus Cup tournament. The ladies lost the final last year to France 2-0, and even though they got their revenge in the Olympic bronze final a few months later, the ladies will be hungry to reclaim the cup, which they won in 2011.

Coach John Herdman has gone with a side consisting of most of the squad from London, while infusing it with a number of players who made their debuts at last month's Yongchuan Cup (Four Nations tournament) in Chongqing, China. It will be the coach's last chance to see a complete squad together, before the team disbands to head off to their NWSL or European teams.

One NWSL-bound players who will not be in Cyprus is Candace Chapman, who is still coming off an injury. In her place is Kadeisha Buchanan, who was part of last year's U-17 World Cup team. Her captain for that tournament, Ashley Lawrence, also received a call up. This will be Buchanan's second senior squad, while this is Lawrence's first. The youth contingent will also include the Seattle Reign's Tiffany Cameron and Boston Breakers' Adriana Leon, both of whom received significant on-field time in China.s

Stephanie Labbe also returns to the senior squad as a third 'keeper; the Stony Plain, Alberta native will likely push her fellow Albertan Erin McLeod and Karina LeBlanc for a spot in the top tandem.

Meanwhile, good news for fans of Christine Sinclair: after sitting out the Yongchuan Cup due to her four-game suspension, she will be available for selection after the team's opening game against Switzerland on March 6th, and the first game she could return to the field will be on March 8th against Finland. The team will close out the group stage against the Netherlands on the 11th, followed by a finals day on the 13th.

Here is the full list of the 25 selected:

GK- Stephanie Labbé | SWE / KIF Örebro DFF
GK- Karina LeBlanc | USA / Portland Thorns FC
GK- Erin McLeod | USA / Chicago Red Stars
CB- Kadeisha Buchanan | CAN / Erin Mills Mighty Eagles U-16
CB- Carmelina Moscato | USA / Chicago Red Stars
CB- Lauren Sesselmann | USA / FC Kansas City
CB- Emily Zurrer | USA / Seattle Reign FC
FB- Melanie Booth | USA / Sky Blue FC
FB- Robyn Gayle | USA / Washington Spirit
FB- Ashley Lawrence | CAN / Erin Mills Mighty Eagles
FB- Bryanna McCarthy | USA / Western New York Flash
FB- Chelsea Stewart | USA / UCLA
FB- Rhian Wilkinson | USA / Boston Breakers
MF - Tiffany Cameron | USA / Seattle Reign FC
MF - Jonelle Filigno | USA / Rutgers University
MF - Kaylyn Kyle | USA / Seattle Reign FC
MF - Diana Matheson | USA / Washington Spirit
MF - Christabel Oduro |
MF - Jodi-Ann Robinson | USA / Western New York Flash
MF - Sophie Schmidt | USA / Sky Blue FC
MF - Desiree Scott | USA / FC Kansas City
MF - Brittany Timko |
FW - Christina Julien |
FW - Adriana Leon | USA / Boston Breakers
FW - Christine Sinclair | USA / Portland Thorns FC

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Waking The Red

You must be a member of Waking The Red to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Waking The Red. You should read them.

Join Waking The Red

You must be a member of Waking The Red to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Waking The Red. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.