Canada vs. Japan: The WTR Open Thread

Canadian Soccer Association Flickr

Turn on the live feed, and chat away in-match with us! Waking the Red's open thread for the Canadian men's team's friendly in Qatar against Asian champions Japan, starting at 11:30am ET.

Canada vs. Japan
2013 International Friendly
7pm AST (12pm ET/10am MT), March 22, 2013
Khalifa International Stadium, Doha, Qatar

Sportsnet.ca

Ah yes, Japan. The land of the rising sun, and the land that made sushi en vogue. Oh, and they're pretty good at the footy, too -- four Asian Cup titles (including the most recent installment), and they're also a point away from being the first country to qualify for their fifth consecutive World Cup finals. Yes, I can see you rolling your eyes already.

So maybe the Canadian side is mostly the ones based in Europe, and many of them were part of THAT game in Honduras. They're looking for a fresh start in the desert sun of Qatar, and they've picked a pretty tough customer that boasts many domestic players from the J-League, along with some European players that includes the likes of Manchester's finest in Shinji Kagawa. They will be without Keisuke Honda, but they've still got enough firepower to last well beyond the 90.

It's hard to say how the Japanese will approach this game, given that their biggest task lies next week in a match against Jordan to determine if they become the 2nd team (besides Brazil) to punch their ticket to 2014, while Canada only has another friendly on Monday against Belarus before we see them again in the western half of the United States in early July for the CONCACAF Gold Cup -- but still, whatever happens, this game is sure to give the Canadian brain trust (currently led by Tony Fonseca) a lot to think about before the summer.

And hey, could we somehow give Japan's Asian neighbours a shred of hope? As they say, "never say never". So turn on the Sportsnet.ca live feed starting at 12pm ET (9am PT, 10am MT), open up a second tab on your browser, and watch along with us -- the thread is yours! Comment, groan, moan and whatnot...it is open to you!

* * *

Canada XI (from): Borjan, Chencinski, Edgar, Hainault, Jakovic, Straith, de Jong, Morgan, Bekker, Piette, de Guzman, Hutchison, Johnson, Ledgerwood, Pacheco, Nakajima-Farran, Cebara, Edwini-Bonsu, Haber, Jackson, Ricketts


Japan XI (from):
Eiji Kawashima, Shusaku Nishikawa, Shuichi Gonda, Yuichi Komano, Yasuyuki Konno, Yuzo Kurihara, Masahiko Inoha, Atsuto Uchida, Maya Yoshida, Hiroki Sakai, Gotoku Sakai, Yasuhito Endo, Kengo Nakamura, Makoto Hasebe, Hajime Hosogai, Hideto Takahashi, Ryoichi Maeda, Shinji Okazaki, Mike Havenaar, Takashi Inui, Shinji Kagawa, Hiroshi Kiyotake, Yuki Otsu

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

Join Waking The Red

You must be a member of Waking The Red to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Waking The Red. You should read them.

Join Waking The Red

You must be a member of Waking The Red to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Waking The Red. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9353_tracker