clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

De Vos and Peschisolido highlight Canadian Soccer Hall of Fame 2013 Inductees.

The Soccer Hall of Fame announced on Friday its list of 2013 inductees: three Players, three Builders, 3 Pioneering brothers, a Team of Distinction and an Organization of Distinction will all be enshrined later this year.

De Vos and Peschisolido's finest moment.
De Vos and Peschisolido's finest moment.

This Friday, the CSA announced this year's inductees to the soccer hall of fame. The Induction banquet will be held on June 1st, and there'll be 'special recognition' at the Canada vs US game at BMO Field on June 2nd for the 2013 inductees to Canada's Hall of Fame. Here's the players, builders, pioneers and team that will be honoured this year.


Jason de Vos - Now a commentator and vocal LTPD proponent, after an impressive club career in Britain, primarily with Dundee United, Wigan and Ipswich Town. Also a long and succesful stint with the national team, wining 49 caps between 197 and 2004, scoring 4 goals, most memorably of course the winning goal in the 2000 Gold Cup final. A natural leader, he was named Captain pretty much everywhere he went and got voted on to the all time Canada XI as part of the CSA's centenary celebrations last year.

Most importantly of course (well, not to anyone else, but |'m writing this, so...) is the club he went to when he first moved over to England, Darlington. He wasn't there long, less than 2 seasons, but long enough to attract attention and a club record transfer fee from Dundee United. It was during that spell that he made his debut for Canada, thus becoming the first ever Darlington player to play in an international game, and I'm fairly certain I'm safe in saying he's the first Darlington player to ever make it into any Hall of Fame (maybe Arthur Wharton, but that would be more about racial groundbreaking than just straight talent) thus cementing the sadly underused honorific Darlington Legend Jason De Vos.

Enjoy his finest moment for Canada right here.

Paul Peschisolido - Another member of that 2000 Gold Cup winning squad, and probably the most high profile Canadian player in Britain in the 90s, Peschisolido played over 400 games for a wide variety of clubs in England, though he never quite made it in the top league, and never quite shook the "Mr Karren Brady" tag in that country. After retiring he moved into managing with Burton Albion, helping them establish themselves n the football league. or Canada, he played 53 games over a 12 year span, scoring 10 goals, being especially prolific in the mid '90s, scoring 7 of those goals in '95 and '96.

Janine Helland - I'll not pretend to know anything about Helland, my sincere apologies, but here's the brief bio the CSA put up about her. Janine Helland played 47 times for Canada and was a member of the Women’s World Cup team in 1995 and 1999. In 1995 in Sweden she played in the centre of the defence against England, Nigeria and Norway, and in 1999 in the United States against Japan, Norway and Russia. She played at the University of Alberta for the Pandas from 1990 to 1994 and was a member of the Edmonton Angels team that won the Centennial Shield in 1995 and 1999. She also won a silver medal in two CONCACAF championships and was a two time runner up as Women’s Player of the Year. After her retirement she coached and led the Edmonton Aviators in the W-League for one season.


Kevin Muldoon - Equipment Manager, Goalkeeping Coach and Teams Administrator for national teams of all ages, male and female teams from 1982-2008.

Bill Gilhespy - at various times he served as President of the Alberta Soccer Association, member of the CSA executive, Chairman of the National Teams Committee and member of the Player Status Commission of Concacaf.

Alex Hylan - Secretary to the Quebec Minor Soccer Association and member of the Promotions Committee from 1964-1973. Founding member of the Canadian Minor Soccer Association in 1969. Member of the Executive of the Canadian Soccer Association responsible for Technical Programs.


Roland, Paul Emile and Marcel Castonguay. Brothers and star players back in the 1930s and '40s.

Team of Distinction

The Men's team that qualified for the 1984 Olympics, finishing 5th overall.

STAFF: Tony Waiters (Coach), Les Wilson (Manager), Bob Bearpark (Assistant Coach), Kevin Muldoon (Goalkeeper Coach/Equipment Mgr), Marc Rizzardo (Physiotherapist), Dr. Ed Johnson (Doctor) and Alex Hylan (Head of Delegation)
PLAYERS: Ian Bridge, John Catliff, Pasquale DeLuca, Gerry Gray, Ken Garraway, Sven Habermann, Paul James, Tino Lettieri, Bob Lenarduzzi, Craig Martin, Dale Mitchell, David Norman, Randy Ragan, Mike Sweeney, Igor Vrablic, Bruce Wilson and Terry Moore.

Organisation of Distinction

Vancouver Columbus F.C.(Eeeeew to the name, but moving on...) One of the most successful men's amateur clubs in Canada having appeared in a record six national finals and won the Canadian Championship four times. They have also won the Province Cup, the championship of British Columbia, six times and won the Pacific Coast League Championship a remarkable seven times. Since being formed 58 years ago, Columbus F.C. has produced more Canadian National Team players than any other amateur club in Canada.