clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Matias Laba, Steven Caldwell, and Robert Earnshaw - Three of Eight Toronto Players Eligible for 2013 MLS Newcomer of the Year

MLS released their list of 2013 Newcomers; eight TFC players in the running

Three of the many candidates for 2013 MLS Newcomer of the Year
Three of the many candidates for 2013 MLS Newcomer of the Year
Brad White

In keeping with their on-the-sly clarifications of who is eligible for which award, MLS released a list of 2013 Newcomers on Wednesday.

While definitely less shrouded in confusion than the Rookie of the Year qualifications, it is still worth having a look at which first year players can take home the award.

Last year’s winner, Federico Higuain scored five goals and tallied seven assists in thirteen appearances, despite having debuted on August 19 for Columbus.

Toronto FC have eight players eligible for the award – in alphabetical order: Gale Agbossoumonde, Mark Bloom, Steven Caldwell, Robert Earnshaw, Jonas Elmer, Matias Laba, Alvaro Rey, and Darel Russell.

Who is Toronto’s newcomer of the year?

Headline contenders – who have played the entire season - range from Colorado’s Clint Irwin, DC Kyle Porter, Dallas’ Raul Fernandez and Michel, Houston’s Andrew Driver, New England’s Jose Goncalves, Portland’s Diego Valeri, Salt Lake’s Olmes Garcia, Seattle’s Obafemi Martins, Kansas City’s Claudio Bieler, and Vancouver’s Nigel Reo-Coker – to highlight just a few.

While later additions, such as Chivas’ Erick Torres, Dallas’ Mauro Diaz, and Los Angeles’ Jaime Penedo – amongst others – still have time to make the necessary impact to take the honours.

The entire list can be found here.

Do any of TFC’s candidates stand a chance against such an quality pool of contenders? Who will take the award?