clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Toronto FC Pass on Pick in First Round of MLS Re-Entry Draft

The club elected not to use its ninth overall pick in the first round of the MLS Re-Entry Draft.

Tom Szczerbowski-USA TODAY Sports

After picking up Steven Beitashour in a trade with the Vancouver Whitecaps yesterday, Toronto FC decided not to make a selection in the first round of the MLS Re-Entry draft. The club had the ninth-overall pick in the draft which took place at 3:00 PM this afternoon.

Toronto were far from alone in this, as 18 of 20 teams decided to pass on their selections in the draft, with only two players being picked. This isn't all that surprising, as selecting a player in the first round of the re-entry draft means picking up their old contract.

Former TFC designated player Maxi Urruti was selected with the first overall pick by FC Dallas, who early in the day traded to acquire the top spot. The only other player selected was goalkeeper Alec Kann, who was picked up by Sporting Kansas City with the 11th overall pick.

The league initially released a list of 60 players who were eligible for the draft, but by the time it opened there were only 48 available. As aforementioned, Steven Beitashour was traded to Toronto FC, while Zach MacMath was traded to the Philadelphia Union prior to the draft. Boniek Garcia, Hassoun Camara, Seth Sinovic and Pa Madou Kah all re-signed with their old clubs. Finally, Dane Richards signed with Miami FC, Zach Scott and Marco Pappa opted-out of the draft and Bakary Soumare retired.

More clubs are expected to make selections in the second round of the re-entry draft, which takes place on December 17. That is when clubs are able to negotiate new contracts with the players that they pick.

Here is a full summary of the first round of the Re-Entry Draft:

1. FC Dallas - Maxi Urruti

2. Colorado Rapids - Pass

3. Philadelphia Union - Pass

4. New York City - Pass

5. Real Salt Lake- Pass

6. Houston Dynamo- Pass

7. Orlando City SC - Pass

8. San Jose Earthquakes - Pass

9. Toronto FC- Pass

10. New England Revolution - Pass

11. Sporting Kansas City - Alec Kann

12. Los Angeles Galaxy - Pass

13. D.C. United - Pass

14. Montreal Impact - Pass

15. Seattle Sounders - Pass

16. Vancouver Whitecaps - Pass

17. Chicago Fire - Pass

18. New York Red Bulls - Pass

19. Columbus Crew - Pass

20. Portland Timbers - Pass