clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Osorio & Ricketts nominated for Canadian Player of the Year

Two Toronto FC players are up for the annual national prize.

MLS: Chicago Fire at Toronto FC John E. Sokolowski-USA TODAY Sports

He may have fallen out of favour with the national team under Benito Floro, but Jonathan Osorio’s performances for Toronto FC have nevertheless earned him a nomination for the Canadian Player of the Year award.

The midfielder is joined on the men’s shortlist by TFC team-mate Tosaint Ricketts, with the winners of the male and female senior prizes set to be voted on by coaches and media members and announced on December 15 and 16.

Osorio has enjoyed the best season of his professional career in 2016, making 34 appearances in the MLS regular season and playoffs so far and scoring four goals. He has also provided two assists and created 42 chances, second on the team only to Sebastian Giovinco.

MLS: Playoffs-Toronto FC at New York City FC Winslow Townson-USA TODAY Sports

Ricketts was a mid-season signing by Toronto and has gone on to score four goals in 15 games. They have all been important, with two clinching the team points and another giving them a two-goal aggregate lead over New York City in the first leg of the Eastern Conference semi-finals. His two goals for Canada this year both came in a 4-0 win over Mauritania in October.

The club is also represented in the youth categories, with TFC II midfielder Luca Uccello up for the Under-20 award and academy players Terique Mohammed and Noble Okello nominated in the Under-17 category.

The women’s shortlist, meanwhile, includes national-team regulars Christine Sinclair, Melissa Tancredi and Stephanie Labbé. Here are the senior nominees in full:

MNT: Tesho Akindele (FC Dallas), Scott Arfield (Burnley), Patrice Bernier (Montreal Impact), Milan Borjan (Ludogorets), Marcel de Jong (Vancouver Whitecaps), David Edgar (Vancouver Whitecaps), Junior Hoilett (Cardiff City), Atiba Hutchinson (Besiktas), Cyle Larin (Orlando City), Jonathan Osorio (Toronto FC), Tosaint Ricketts (Toronto FC), Adam Straith (Fredrikstad).

WNT: Janine Beckie (Houston Dash), Kadeisha Buchanan (West Virginia U.), Sabrina D’Angelo (Western New York Flash), Jessie Fleming (UCLA), Stephanie Labbé (Washington Spirit), Ashley Lawrence (West Virginia U.), Diana Matheson (Washington Spirit), Sophie Schmidt (FFC Frankfurt), Desiree Scott (FC Kansas City), Christine Sinclair (Portland Thorns), Melissa Tancredi (KIF Orebro), Shelina Zadorsky (Washington Spirit).