clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Scott Arfield Headlines Canada Roster Announced for Mexico World Cup Qualifiers

Canada names a strong roster for crucial matches against Mexico.

It seems like every time the Canadian men's national team have played a game this year they have had a debutant in the lineup. That trend will continue for their upcoming pair of World Cup qualifiers against Mexico, as Scott Arfield will be making his debut for the Canadian national team.

The 27-year-old Arfield was born in Scotland, but has a Canadian father. After repeatedly being left off the Scottish national team roster, he filed a one time switch making him eligible to play for Canada. It appears all of his paperwork is in order, and Arfield will be available for Canada next friday at BC Place.

The midfielder plays for Burnley, who are currently at the top of the Football League Championship standings and will likely be in the Premier League next season. Arfield has 7 goals and 6 assists in 37 matches for Burnley this season.

Arfield headlines a strong roster announced today for the Mexico qualifiers, which will take place on March 25 in Vancouver, and March 29 in Mexico City. He is the only newcomer to the squad, which is made up of players that Canadian manager Benito Floro has clearly come to trust.

However, the national team does have some players in the lineup that were not available for the last two qualifying matches. While he was in the squad, David Edgar was injured but will be fully available this time around. Joining him on the backline will be Steven Vitoria, who made his national team debut last month, and Doneil Henry.

Will Johnson is the only player from Toronto FC on the roster. It is no surprise that Jonathan Osorio has once again been left off the roster for these matches, but reports have it that his relationship with Floro is improving. As such he could be back on the team for upcoming fixtures.

Below is the full roster:

1- GK- Simon Thomas | NOR / FK Bodø/Glimt
2- FB- Nik Ledgerwood | CAN / FC Edmonton
3- CB- Manjrekar James | HUN / Diósgyöri VTK
4- CB- Dejan Jaković | JPN / Shimizu S-Pulse
5- CB / M- David Edgar | ENG / Sheffield United
6- M- Julian de Guzman | CAN / Ottawa Fury FC
7- W- Iain Hume | ESP / SD Ponferradina
8- M- Will Johnson | CAN / Toronto FC
9- F- Marcus Haber | ENG / Crewe Alexandra
10- W- David Junior Hoilett | ENG / Queens Park Rangers
11- W- Tosaint Ricketts | Unattached
12- CB- Doneil Henry | ENG / West Ham United
13- M- Atiba Hutchinson | TUR / Beşiktaş JK
14- M- Samuel Piette | ESP / Deportivo La Coruña
15- CB / M- Adam Straith | NOR / Fredrikstad FK
16- M- Scott Arfield | ENG / Burnley FC
17- FB- Marcel De Jong | CAN / Ottawa Fury FC
18- GK- Milan Borjan | BUL / PFK Ludogorets Razgrad
19- CB- Steven Vitória | POR / Benfica
20- FB / CB- Karl W. Ouimette | USA / New York Red Bulls
21- F- Cyle Larin | USA / Orlando City SC
22- GK- Kenny Stamatopoulos | SWE / AIK Fotbol
23- W- Tesho Akindele | USA / FC Dallas