clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Canada lose to the United States in the Concacaf Women’s tournament final

Canada will try to lift their third Concacaf Women’s Championship title tonight

Soccer: 2018 CONCACAF Women’s Championship-Panama at Canada Jerome Miron-USA TODAY Sports

The United States scored at the start and the death of the Concacaf women’s championship final to win their eighth title 2-0 over Canada. The Americans did not allow a single goal during the tournament.

Alex Morgan and Rose Lavalle scored the goals for the USA, with Morgan’s goal coming in the 89th and Lavalle scoring just three minutes into the match. The goals were not without controversy, however, as Morgan’s goal was clearly offside. There is no VAR in women’s soccer.

The win was thoroughly deserved by the United States, however, as they held the better of possession and chances throughout. Canada rarely had chances throughout the match, and have still not beaten the United States since 2001.

89’ - Goal Alex Morgan Seven goals in the tournament for Alex Morgan. Looked to have been offside but no VAR.

79’ - Alex Morgan nearly makes it two for the United States. Canada still alive though after the miss.

73’ Canada makes a tactical sub, bringing on Diana Matheson and reshuffling their backline. They need more offensive talent and Matheson will bring that, has been a good tournament so far from the midfielder.

63’- Better from Canada here in the second half. Better chances still falling to the states but more from Canada of late. Good connection in the midfield for Canada centrally through Rebecca Quinn.

Half-time: Not a great start for the Canadian women’s national team. It has become a chippy match which only sort of suits Canada at this point. Offensively Canada have shown very little and in some ways they are lucky not to have more cards and be down more goals.

36’- Yellow cards being handed out to both teams right now. It’s getting chippy as you would expect with these two rivals.

31’ - A bit better from Canada as the half wears on. They are playing a lot more physically which is something that has always caused issues for the United States, and is irritating them currently. Still no great scoring chances, however.

3’- Goal United States, Rose Lavelle Yikes, not the start Canada would have wanted as the US strike early. Not good enough closing down from the Canadian midfielders at the top of the box after an initial clearance.

John Herdman accomplished an incredible amount with the Canadian women’s national team. He won back-to-back Olympic bronze medals, the first medals in the team’s history. He led the team through a reasonably successful home World Cup.

But if there is one thing that notably eluded him during his time with the team, it was picking up a win against the United States. He first made headlines when his team came painfully close to doing so in 2012, and there were a few draws, but no wins.

Even Pellerud was in charge of the women’s national team the last time they beat the Americans. It was a dramatically different Canada side back then, with the one constant being the fact that Christine Sinclair scored in that 2001 match.

Fast forward 17 years, and Sinclair is still central to Canada’s team under Kenneth Heiner-Møller that will again face the United States tonight in the final of the Concacaf women’s championship in Frisco, Texas. It could be quite the way for the new boss to announce himself.

The stakes also aren’t all that big. Sure, there is a trophy and continental competition on the line but both teams have already qualified for the World Cup which is the ultimate goal. The fact that Canada has outscored opponents 24-1 to get to the final would make winning a touch less impressive than the Gold Cup, for example.

No chance to take down the Americans should be scoffed at, however. A match against the reigning World Cup champions is always a helpful measuring stick for the program.

The United States have already won this competition seven times. Canada have won it twice, in 1998 when the Americans did not participate and in 2010 when the US were upset in the semi-finals by Mexico.

How to watch:

TV: FS1 (United States)

Radio: N/A

Online: Concacaf Go