clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2020 Canadian Championship Schedule and Format Released

Could we see the first ever Toronto derby?

Voyageurs Cup Photo by Adam Pulicicchio/Getty Images

After a highly entertaining 2019 Voyageurs Cup, Canada Soccer has again tweaked the format and schedule for the 2020 tournament. With the Ottawa Fury folding, there will be twelve clubs involved in next year’s competition as the three MLS clubs and seven CanPL sides will once again be joined by the PLSQ and League1 Ontario champions.

The biggest change to this year’s competition is that it has been regionalized in an east-west bracket. This means teams have been seeded based on geographic location. The three MLS sides, and the best CanPL side in last year’s tournament Cavalry FC, have been given byes to the quarter-final round.

While dividing teams regionally is a somewhat unique way of formatting the tournament it certainly comes with its benefits. First and foremost, it makes travel much easier on all involved which was a bit of a sticking point during an already travel-heavy initial CanPL season.

It also sets up for the possibility of a lot of derby games. Toronto FC, for example, could well face York9 for the first time in the semi-finals. The same can be said for Vancouver and Pacific, as well as Montreal and AS Blainville. The new format also means an extra two games for all of the MLS sides.

Here is the full schedule for this year’s tournament:

Qualifying Round 1 (16-25 June 2020)

Match 1: Edmonton - Pacific

Match 2: Valour - Forge

Match 3: AS Blainville v HFX

Match 4: Masters Futbol vs York9

Quarter-final round (7-16 July 2020)

Winner Match 1 vs Vancouver Whitecaps

Winner Match 2 vs Cavalry FC

Winner Match 3 vs Montreal Impact

Winner Match 4 vs Toronto FC

Semi-final (11-20 August 2020)

Final (15-24 September 2020)