clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Mavinga, Pozuelo nominated for MVP as MLS reveals end-of-season award list

In total, 10 different Toronto FC nominations as Major League Soccer reveals its nominees for their 2020 awards.

MLS: Toronto FC at Orlando City SC
Toronto FC defender Chris Mavinga (23), Toronto FC midfielder Alejandro Pozuelo (10) and teammates stand prior to the game.
(Klement/USA TODAY)

TORONTO, Canada—Major League Soccer revealed Thursday their nominees for their 2020 end-of-season awards and it certainly contains its hint of Red.

Headlining the list from a Toronto FC perspective are midfielder Alejandro Pozuelo and defender Chris Mavinga, who were two of 47 players nominated for the Landon Donovan MLS MVP award.

Pozuelo, obviously, leads the way with his tangible impact on the field, but it’s nice to see Mavinga get some recognition as well. The Frenchman has been the Reds’ best central defender this season and his involvement has been synonymous with their success in 2020.

In total, Toronto FC players & staff received 10 different nominations.

The end of Year Awards will be determined through voting between Oct. 29-Nov. 9 from three groups:

• Current MLS players
• MLS clubs (Coaches, Technical Directors/General Managers)
• Select media members representing local and national outlets who consistently covered the 2020 MLS regular season

Below is a full list of the end-of-year awards, along with any Toronto FC nomination.

2020 MLS End of Year Awards

  • MLS Golden Boot presented by Audi
  • Landon Donovan MLS MVP

Chris Mavinga, Alejandro Pozuelo Toronto FC

  • MLS Best XI built by The Home Depot
  • AT&T MLS Young Player of the Year

Ayo Akinola Toronto FC

  • Allstate MLS Goalkeeper of the Year

Quentin Westberg Toronto FC

  • MLS Defender of the Year

Richie Laryea, Chris Mavinga Toronto FC

  • MLS Comeback Player of the Year

Michael Bradley Toronto FC

  • MLS Newcomer of the Year

Pablo Piatti Toronto FC

  • AT&T MLS Goal of the Year
  • MLS Save of the Year presented by Allstate
  • MLS WORKS Humanitarian of the Year

Justin Morrow Toronto FC

  • Sigi Schmid MLS Coach of the Year

Greg Vanney Toronto FC

  • MLS Referee of the Year
  • MLS Assistant Referee of the Year
  • MLS Fair Play Award – Individual & Team

You can find the full list of nominees here.