clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Toronto FC coach Greg Vanney finishes 3rd in 2020 MLS Coach of the Year voting

The TFC head coach finishes behind Jim Curtin and Oscar Pareja as this season’s top bench boss.

MLS: Toronto FC at New England Revolution
Toronto FC head coach Greg Vanney (right) congratulates his team after defeating the New England Revolution at Gillette Stadium.

TORONTO, Canada—Major League Soccer announced today that Philadelphia Union head coach Jim Curtin has been named the 2020 Sigi Schmid MLS Coach of the Year.

Curtin led the Union to the Supporters’ Shield for the first time in club history, owning a .717 win percentage—by far the best mark in club history. The Union (14-4-5) led MLS allowing just 20 goals this season in what was a dominant 2020 campaign.

Toronto FC’s Greg Vanney was recently named as one of three finalists for the Coach of the Year award after helping Toronto post the second-best record in MLS despite having to overcome unique circumstances due to border restrictions as a result of the global pandemic. The TFC head coach, who was named Coach of the Year in 2017, finished third in voting this season, accumulating 4.75 per cent of the final vote, also behind Orlando City SC’s Oscar Pareja.