clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2020 MLS Expansion Draft: Which 12 Toronto FC players would you protect?

A full guide to today’s action from a Toronto FC perspective.

Austin FC Special Announcement Press Conference
Matthew McConaughey and Camila Alves pass a soccer ball back and forth following the Austin FC Major League Soccer club announcement of four new investors.
Photo by Rick Kern/Getty Images

TORONTO, Canada—The 2020 Major League Soccer Expansion Draft goes down Tuesday Dec. 15 at 6 p.m. EST as newcomers Austin FC will be officially welcomed as the 27th club in MLS.

During the 2020 MLS Expansion Draft on Tuesday, Dec. 15, the Texas-based side may select up to five players from other clubs in preparation for their inaugural 2021 season. Clubs that do have players taken from them will receive $50,000 in General Allocation Money.

There are, of course, limitations as to whom Austin will be able to select.

The following 10 teams that had players selected by Inter Miami and Nashville SC during the 2019 MLS Expansion Draft, are exempt from the 2020 MLS Expansion Draft: (New York City FC, FC Cincinnati, Los Angeles Football Club, Columbus Crew SC, Seattle Sounders FC, Minnesota United FC, Portland Timbers, New England Revolution, Atlanta United, and Sporting Kansas City).

As you may or may not have noticed, that list of teams does not include Toronto FC, who are indeed eligible to have one player taken from their roster on Tuesday.

So who on the Reds will be left exposed, and therefore, free for Austin to select?

Well, Toronto FC are allowed to protect up to 12 players, and that doesn’t include Generation adidas players who have not been graduated at the end of the 2020 MLS Season and Homegrown Players (ages 25 and under –born in or after 1995) on a club’s Roster at the end of the 2020 MLS Season, as they are automatically protected. Clubs do not have to use a protected slot on them.

The following Toronto FC players are exempt from this year’s MLS Expansion Draft

  • Ayo Akinola
  • Marky Delgado
  • Griffin Dorsey
  • Julian Dunn
  • Liam Fraser
  • Jahkeele Marshall-Rutty
  • Jayden Nelson
  • Noble Okello
  • Ralph Priso
  • Rocco Romeo
  • Jacob Shaffelburg

That leaves 21 players who were on their roster last season. Of those 21 players TFC can protect 12, leaving the remaining nine left unprotected. It’s worth noting that if a player does have a No Trade Clause built into their contract, then they must be automatically protected. Designated players are not automatically protected.

So of the group below, Toronto FC will have to choose 12 players to protect. That list will become public as of 10:00 a.m. Monday morning.

(Update: The list will now become public as of 1 p.m. EST).

  • Achara
  • Auro Jr.
  • Alex Bono
  • Michael Bradley
  • Nick DeLeon
  • Omar Gonzalez
  • Richie Laryea
  • Chris Mavinga
  • Jonathan Osorio
  • Pablo Piatti
  • Alejandro Pozuelo
  • Quentin Westberg
  • Jozy Altidore
  • Laurent Ciman
  • Tsubasa Endoh
  • Tony Gallacher
  • Justin Morrow
  • Patrick Mullins
  • Kevin Silva
  • Eriq Zavaleta
  • Erickson Gallardo

So Toronto FC fans/armchair GMs. Which 12 players are you choosing to protect if you’re Toronto FC? Let us know in the comments.