clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Sebastian Giovinco, Justin Morrow and Greg Vanney get MLS Awards nominations

The Atomic Ant is up for MVP again, but Victor Vazquez gets snubbed.

MLS: Eastern Conference Semifinal-Toronto FC at New York Red Bulls Vincent Carchietta-USA TODAY Sports

Sebastian Giovinco, Justin Morrow and Greg Vanney are all in with a chance of earning major MLS honours.

The league released the final shortlists for its end-of-season awards on Tuesday and Toronto FC feature in the MVP, Defender of the Year and Coach of the Year categories.

Giovinco could be named the league’s most valuable player for the second time, while Morrow and Vanney are recognized on the defensive and coaching lists.

Victor Vazquez and Michael Bradley are out of the running for the MVP crown, though, and even more surprisingly Vazquez is not on the Newcomer of the Year shortlist.

The final shortlists are based on the votes cast by MLS players, staffers and media members, with the winners set to be announced between November 2 and December 4.

Giovinco is joined by Miguel Almiron, Nemanja Nikolic, Diego Valeri and David Villa on the MVP shortlist, with Valeri considered a strong favourite.

Morrow has Ike Opara and Kendall Waston for company for Defender of the Year, while Vanney is up against Veljko Paunovic and Gerardo Martino.

Toronto are also a team finalist for the Fair Play Award.

The full list of nominees is as follows:


Miguel Almiron (Atlanta United), Sebastian Giovinco (Toronto FC), Nemanja Nikolic (Chicago Fire), Diego Valeri (Portland Timbers), David Villa (New York City FC)

Defender of the Year

Justin Morrow (Toronto FC), Ike Opara (Sporting Kansas City), Kendall Waston (Vancouver Whitecaps FC)

Goalkeeper of the Year

Andre Blake (Philadelphia Union), Stefan Frei (Seattle Sounders FC), Tim Melia (Sporting Kansas City)

Newcomer of the Year

Miguel Almiron (Atlanta United), Josef Martinez (Atlanta United), Nemanja Nikolic (Chicago Fire)

Rookie of the Year

Abu Danladi (Minnesota United FC), Jack Elliott (Philadelphia Union), Julian Gressel (Atlanta United)

Coach of the Year

Gerardo Martino (Atlanta United), Veljko Paunovic (Chicago Fire), Greg Vanney (Toronto FC)

Comeback Player of the Year

Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Federico Higuain (Columbus Crew SC), Erick Torres (Houston Dynamo)

Humanitarian of the Year

Ryan Hollingshead (FC Dallas), Matt Lampson (Chicago Fire), Luis Robles (New York Red Bulls)

Individual Fair Play Award

DaMarcus Beasley (Houston Dynamo), Jahmir Hyka (San Jose Earthquakes), Dave Romney (LA Galaxy)

Team Fair Play Award

Chicago Fire, Seattle Sounders FC, Toronto FC

Referee of the Year

Allen Chapman, Ismail Elfath, Mark Geiger

Assistant Referee of the Year

Jeremy Hanson, Corey Parker, Adam Wienckowski