clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Toronto FC schedule: The full 2018 MLS fixture list

Here are the dates to circle on your new calendar.

MLS: MLS CUP-Seattle Sounders vs Toronto FC Tom Szczerbowski-USA TODAY Sports

You can fill in your calendars now. Toronto FC know who they’ll be seeing in 2018, as the MLS fixture list was released this afternoon.

Of course, we already knew how TFC will open their season — the away leg of their CONCACAF Champions League tie with the Colorado Rapids kicks off in Denver at 10 p.m. on Tuesday, February 20. They’ll follow that up with the home leg at 8 p.m. on February 27.

As for how the MLS season will begin, we already knew that, too. The Reds host the Columbus Crew on March 3, and they have a bye in Week 2 (which is when the CCL quarter-finals would be). They’ll then take part in the Montreal Impact’s home opener, on St. Patrick’s Day at the Stade Olympique.

Here’s the rest of TFC’s 2018 MLS schedule:

Toronto FC MLS schedule 2018

Date Opponent Time (ET) / TV
Date Opponent Time (ET) / TV
Saturday, March 3 Columbus Crew 1pm / TSN
Saturday, March 17 at Montreal Impact 3pm / CTV, TVA Sports
Friday, March 30 Real Salt Lake 8pm / TSN
Saturday, April 7 D.C. United 7:30pm / TSN
Saturday, April 14 at Colorado Rapids 3pm / CTV
Saturday, April 21 at Houston Dynamo 3pm / CTV
Saturday, April 28 Chicago Fire 3pm / CTV
Friday, May 4 Philadelphia Union 8pm / TSN
Wednesday, May 9 Seattle Sounders 7:30pm / FS1, TSN
Saturday, May 12 at New England Revolution 7:30pm / TSN
Friday, May 18 Orlando City 8pm / TSN
Friday, May 25 FC Dallas 8pm / TSN
Saturday, June 2 at Columbus Crew 7:30pm / TSN
Friday, June 8 at Philadelphia Union 8pm / TSN
Sunday, June 24 at New York City FC 4:30pm / TSN
Sunday, July 1 New York Red Bulls 4:30pm / FOX, TSN
Wednesday, July 4 at Minnesota United 7pm / TSN
Saturday, July 7 at Sporting Kansas City 8:30pm / TSN
Saturday, July 14 at Orlando City 7:30pm / TSN
Saturday, July 21 at Chicago Fire 8pm / TSN
Saturday, July 28 Chicago Fire 7pm / TSN
Saturday, August 4 at Atlanta United 4pm / ESPN, TSN
Sunday, August 12 New York City FC 4pm / ESPN, TSN
Saturday, August 18 at San Jose Earthquakes 10pm / TSN
Saturday, August 25 Montreal Impact 8pm / TSN, TVA Sports
Wednesday, August 29 at Portland Timbers 10:30pm / TSN
Saturday, September 1 Los Angeles FC 8pm / TSN
Saturday, September 15 LA Galaxy 7:30pm / TSN
Saturday, September 22 at New York Red Bulls 5pm / TSN
Saturday, September 29 New England Revolution 7:30pm / TSN
Saturday, October 6 Vancouver Whitecaps FC 5pm / TSN
Wednesday, October 17 at D.C. United 8pm / TSN
Sunday, October 21 at Montreal Impact 12pm / TSN, TVA Sports
Sunday, October 28 Atlanta United 4:30pm / TSN

At first glance, it doesn’t look too bad. The Reds don’t have a midweek game until May 9, when the Seattle Sounders come to BMO Field for an MLS Cup rematch. In fact, they only have four all year, compared to six in 2017 (not including the Canadian Championship or playoffs).

There are a lot of Saturday evening kickoffs, as well as a string of Friday night games in May and early June. As with all other MLS teams, TFC have a break in June for the World Cup (despite Armando Cooper being the only player participating).

The New York Red Bulls will make their return to Toronto on Canada Day (a Saturday). That’s definitely one date to look forward to. Unfortunately, the Reds won’t get to travel to Los Angeles FC’s new stadium this season; they’ll play both LA clubs back-to-back at home in September.

Toronto will get to visit D.C. United’s new stadium in October, and they’ll make their first-ever away trip to play Minnesota United on July 4. That game against the Loons kicks off a four-game road trip for TFC in July, during which they’ll also play Sporting Kansas City, Orlando City, and the Chicago Fire.

TFC have a lot of road games in the summer, that July road trip coming on top of a June in which they have no MLS home game scheduled (but there’ll likely be a Canadian Championship tie somewhere in there).

As for the 401 Derby, that Olympic Stadium matchup will be joined by a Rivalry Week game at BMO Field on August 25, and a fixture at Saputo Stadium on October 21.

Funnily enough, the 2018 regular season finishes in the opposite way of 2017 for Toronto: they play away to Montreal in their second-last game, before hosting Atlanta United on Decision Day.

By my count, TFC will be on national TV in Canada at least four times in 2018, with CTV picking up the March away game in Montreal as well as three straight April fixtures against the Colorado Rapids, Houston Dynamo, and Chicago Fire. The Reds will also be on ESPN twice, with consecutive games in August against Atlanta United and New York City FC broadcast nationally south of the border.

Overall, this year’s schedule looks pretty balanced (but we’ll wait and see how the Canadian Championship and CCL go before deciding).